Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
nicola au Perou
4 février 2009

Christ help

Suddenly I find myself in chage of the pabillon of 28 girls the tutor left on Monday for a day not feeling very well and i am now in charge of the girls: Its a little strange as my spanish is so poor but we seem to manage in fact they have been extra good and helpful: I no sleep with 24 of them, what joy sandwiched between them on a lower bunk and yes Charlie I have got nits, what joy, I have bought a nit comb that was fun the woman couldnt believe that I might have nits but its constant as they all have nits there wont be alot of chance of getting rid of them properly till I leave there I suppose:

I also find mysrlf teaching 16 5 to 9 year olds for 2 hours in the moring but its shere hell: Today I did an English class as i really cant do Spanish and what i will do tomorrow is your guesss as i dont know at all:

have to supervise cleaning bathing cleaning of teath more bathing nit combing, washing clothes , all clothes washed by hand etc etc. Dole out the food for all 28 its quite busy as the day starts at 6 heaven knows why as breakfast isnt till 8. Ne ciook this month as usually there are two but for the sumnmer each one takes a month holiday, so Martina left on Saturday and new one here now taste of food slightly different but still an awful lot of rice.

Went out on Saturday for the week end which was an eye opener: The trip to Lima by several busdes takes about 2 hours woth usually 3 changes: Its incredibly dirty and hot often hanging on for dear life as there are no sets and the drivers drive incredibly fast and badly. It was somewhat shocking parts of Lima are really terrribly poor, people sleeping on mounds of dirt in the middle of the road. Horribly dirty with garbage all over the place: Went through a renouned dangerous part of lima called La Vittoria and a chap tried to steal somethiong from a lady in the bus through a window, the whole bus then looked at me and told me to be careful as I suppose I stand out: Natalie told me to take off my sunglasses and put my bag on the floor: When w got off near central lima I was a little scared to say the least. So poor and crowded: Walked quite a way to Congress building and then went to the museum of the inquisition and congress only with other peruvians so interesting to see them: From there on the the Plaza de Armas, cathedral,palacio de gobernero it was dusk and lovely no tourists othr than peruvians around, wandered about seemed alot safer round there then on to another plaza and a church of st pedro where a huge peruvian wedding was goin on fascinating, all the outfits and grandure photographers and vido cameras hung around for a bit to watch and inally went to the magic waters an entertainment park opened about a year ago t by the city and half of Lima seemed to be there, end of the month pay day:5 other brides there all being photographed in front of fountains fascinating, not the sort of thing I would normally go to but interesting in lots of ways: Natalie always goes there with her family so wanted to show m, rthen we went to eat outside the park on the road in a small bar type place seemed a bit dubious to me but ate what Natalie ordered, it was all very greasy but edible and then walked for the bus and another 2 hours to get to her place in Pachacamac where I had a tiny room to myself with loo down the hall.

Up early on Sunday breakfast at the market juice and aocado roll and then 2 more hours on the bus to go to the zoo would you believe crossed the whiolw of lima for this and Natalie very keen it was fine chatted away, had a picnic lunch with everyone else there nd spent 5 hours wondering around. Then another 2 hours to get back to hers, so about 8 hours over the week end on buses so saw alot of different bits of lima if nothing else. Dirty at the end of it. Havent got too much time now to write the girls will be waiting for me and been collecting tomatos in the chacra with a tomato fight between the kids and inevitably I got hit by rotton tomatos too so need a shower before supper: I am beginning to see the need for all the showers now really. Also got bitten to death by little flies so not that comfortable. Taken 500 pix now and hopefully Tom will bring in his laptop so I can download them and get them onto a computer.

love to you all

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
P
Hola Nicola,<br /> <br /> Yo pienso que ahora puedes leer un poco el castellano, muy lindas las fotos, creo que tienes pasarla bien, en todo caso se te ve muy bien; hasta pronto y suerte pour la suite.<br /> <br /> Pedro
F
coucou nicola,<br /> <br /> Je n'ai rien compris il faut que je fasse traduire mais ce qui est sûr c'est que tu es toujours en vie et ça c'est c'est bien.... je pense fort à toi bisous Françoise
A
salut<br /> j'arrive pas a traduire assez vite ,je vais me le faire traduire par un ami <br /> ici ,tout va bien ,j'espère que toi aussi <br /> je bosse mon anglais pour pouvoir te faire un bon commentaire lol<br /> bise jean-louis
A
...des aventures dignes d'un film de Jules Vernes.<br /> Cela te fera des beaux souvenirs à raconter devant la cheminée.<br /> Take care my nicola.Kiss.JO.
J
Nits hey.... oh dear!<br /> Well done mum, it sounds like you are doing amazingly. You must be shattered.<br /> miss you <br /> xx
Publicité