Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
nicola au Perou
12 février 2009

well more of the same and a day at the sea

hello

Dont think I have ever mentioned the fact that I have to take cold showers, still find it hard after a month but grit my teeth but yesterday the shower curtains have been removed to clean I suppose so I have no privacy at all still , cold cold cold. it reminds me of omi and makes me think I will live till at least 95. Also there are no mirrors at casa santa martha and I have not seen myself for a month. No make uo I must look a sight.

yesterday I had the pleasure of accompanying the kids on an outing to the sea. Everyweek through the hols the owner of santa martha and the firector from brazil invite the good kids the ones that have worked in the year to come to their house on a private beach; I learnt rather alot yesterday, I didnt realise they lived together. Anyway we went in two cars 25 of us I have no idea how we all squeezed in but we did. They have several staff and we were recieved in the house and then taken down to a private beach for a few houses, very chique indeed lift down or stairs then places to lie on reclining chairs and place to eat loos with loo paper showers, still not jot but showers at the edge of the beach. kids really really excited. lifejackets for then all and I was left with then all, one other chap was there but he had his own kids with him and didnt look after the kids only enhanced his own tan, It wa in a small ay so not many waves and the kids were able to enjoy themselves even if they didnt know how to swim, They put up a paddling pool for the younger ones who spent their time in that, We then had a sit down lunch a real treat even for me. A potato dish very famous here followed by dlicious lasagna some kids had 4 helpings. Then more swimming until just before going we went back up to the house lovely white finca type building overlooking the bay, where we had cakes and ice cream before going back. The gitls were in heaven so so excited and happy some had never seen the sea. of course some were mighty sick after supper three went to bed with stomac upsets.

I cant really discuss the set up here but let me say it was interesting. New kids arriving two this week One boy of 7 never been to school or anything doesnt even know the name of the colours. poor kid how will je manage.

Hipomg to go into lima this week end with Natalie and an archeologist from work they are planning the day so will rag along so to speak: Thanks Ali for contacts sjould be seeing Florence next week end she is away all of this and have just got the number for pascual thanks, Starting to think of my trip but havent planned much yet wont have time to do the boat trip you suggest for a month will have to leave that for another venture,

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
A
Nicola,<br /> Hope you have a good time in Lima. The boat trip from Pucalpa to Iquitos took I think about 6 days. The whole month, was to get down to the mouth of the Amazon in Belem. The initial part of the journey, in the Ucayali river (?) which is one of its sources, is much shorter. Hope more staff are arriving or returning soon to help share the burden. Hope also you managed to take some pictures of the outing to the sea.<br /> Take care,<br /> Ali
Publicité