Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
nicola au Perou
6 mars 2009

el coñon del colca

Hi back from my two day trekk really worth going but got up to 4910 m and it does feel alittle strange, just have to take it easy, got a bit of a headache and felt a little wobbly but only at that hight for a short time and then back to about 3600m.

Anyway got picked up by the tour bus and spent an hour picking up all the fellow travellers. French, Cilean, Peruvian, Spanish German and me, they were a good bunch spent my time with the young kids and sat next to a 27 year old Peruvian who was adopted by a Spanish family and has lived in Barcelona for 20 years spoke only spanish so it was a bit tiring but he had a goodish camera so we had that in common, he was good company After trapsing round Arequipa to pick everyone up we set off out of town first stop just outside town to look at the three volcanos surrounding the city but cloud cover and couldnt see much; I saw Misti when I went to the church early its quite imposing. Then headed on and another stop to pee and buy water as altitude he said we should stock up. There are also some coco sweets that are good to suck aparently and drinking coco tea too helps in the altitude. Off again and the countryside really dry and rocky. Climbed up and up and eventually started to see vicunia llamas and alpacas which was interesting stopped and could walk quite close to them. The volcanos we passed mostly covered in cloud, this is off season and rainy, that is why I got a place on the inca trail. Stopped at various lookout points and plce for cooc tea, one poor girl really really sick all the way. I didnt feel too bad just a bit of a headache but then I have a foul cold so maybe that didnt help. Eventually got to Chivay at the beginning of the colca valley where we were having a very late lunch and staying the night. We were all in varying hotels. I had mnaged to get a very good offer on an expensive hotel and ws the only one of the group staying there, I have to say I was so so glad that I was there a little out of the village with lovely views and very thick duvet and hot water . The other hotels were very basic indeed with mould growing off the walls.Bit of a bore for the bus driver as he had to take me up the mountain a bit and come and colect me too but it was ok; Took me up to the hotel and said I had 15 mins before we had to go which was ok as he deposited me in the village squae and I got about 45mins ib ny own to visit the church the market and take pictures; Then we were off to some thermal baths 3 kms away. 38 degrees but open air, it was very hot really and then had to run back to the changing area quite a way away but survived, then off to one of those ghastly dinners where they have folkdancers etc but it was ok.Taken up to my hotel where a chap chatted me up outside my room so I moved all the furniture infront of the door, a bit stupid but being there alone from my group I felt a little uneasy after all. There were some other people staying threre too but I never saw anyone. Slept really badly again, aparently that is common at high altitude. Up at 5 for breakfast as I ws being collected before the others and we were off to see the condors fly in the colca valley. Stopped off at churches and villages and very touristy really as ladies lined the route with their woven articles ponchos etc while little kids lead llamas around and other women had birds of pry to be photographed with:

Got to the condor bit and saw 6 or 7 but not very well but the countryside is totally breathtaking, terraces green and just beautiful: I was thinking Jess and Charlie you could scatter my ashes there it would give you a reason to set off on a trek together whenever that happens, I would leave you the money in my will to pay for the travelling expenses, might find somewhere I think better but to be discussed. Really loved the place but an awful lot of time in the bus too, got back to Chivay and had lunch and eventually got back to Arequipa at 6ish: Hoping to have a shower but no hot water. Taken all my clothes to the laundry. Got lots of tips on further travelling where to go where to stay etc so handy.

Hoping to get a decent nights sleep.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
C
Sounds awesome hope that your snapping away on your camera. Also glad that you are thinking practically about me a Jess getting there to scatter your ashes! Ha!<br /> <br /> Love you xxx
J
wow, i hadn't realised that you had to climb that high? how high is the inca trail? <br /> It sounds like such an amazing place, i really can't wait to see all the pictures.<br /> love you lots
Publicité