Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
nicola au Perou
15 janvier 2009

first 2 days at Santa Martha

well, quite a change in lifestyle. Walter picked me up in a pick up truck 10mins early and drove me to Villa Martha stopping en route at the bank and vet for medicine for the animals: Arrived and met Maria the chef of the place who gave me a good guided tour: Was shown to a dormatory with the older girls 14 to 15 year olds where i sleep . First night on bottom bunk ,which suited me, then moved as 3 new kids appeared and they needed my bed, to top bunk with no ladder. saw the babies about 14   1 to 2 year olds then 20 3 to 5 year olds, and 105 at the moment in all. They have pigs, chicken, goats and guinea pig which they eat. They grow salad and veg,and make clothes and bread. all in all a quick tour and then lunch: Getting used to eating not very much, cucumber, not my favorite and rice and meat first meal, with a hot derink that I dont like much: Supper was a plate of rice and hot drink and breakfast is a revolting milky drink that I cannot bring myself even to try; Last night I had a plate of rice as the thing with it was unedible in my mind, so watch this space.

Not speaking much spanish makes it difficult but I am surrounded by kids wanting to be cuddles and jumping on me: It is quite exhausting sourrounded by noise constantly and never alone but I will get used to it: as the cold showers that I find not so easy either, it is best to shower in the middle of the day as then you dont feel so cold at bed time but they shower 2 or 3 times a day, I have noticed nits so dont suppose I will get away with out:

this morning at &.30 I helped get up the littleest ones bathing then nd dressing them they stick to you and all want to hold your hand: I wish my spanish was better. then helped in a class of 5 year olds drawing triangles, circles etc and trying to write their names.

So that is a little of what I am up to: It very different from anything I have done before and as i said it is shattering, so tired last night I climbed into bed and was asleep but still wake at 4 because of the time change.

catch you soon

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité